Need help identifying Lodge & Shipley and pricing guidance - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Chadmjohn,
    I am a real fan of L&S machinery. This stuff is first class professional equipment. I am not an expert though, Johnoder is. So if you have specific questions on this Model A, John is your man. However these machines take no prisoners. These are big, heavy and can remove a limb and not even breath hard. In that respect, it is NOT a good learning machine. Adding to that, this machine was built long before OSHA and safety gear. Please keep that in mind. Yes, it doesn't have very high spindle speeds, but they are rarely used on large diameter work anyway. As a hobby machine, you will never be under time constraints, so spindle speed is a non-issue. My L&S has a clutch and brake and is really very nice, but I'm not sure if a model A has. Perhaps John knows? In any case small, lower end lathes rarely have that feature, so if it does have a clutch & brake, that would be a real plus. The model A was designed to use HSS tools not carbide. It can use carbide of course, it is stiff enough for sure, but carbide likes speed. The model A will take a lot of space and you will need access all around for cleaning and general service. Even though the ideal hobby machine size is a 13 x 40 machine, the price is right for the the model A. If is doen't hurt you, it is worth a shot. Remember, soap is cheap. There may be a real gem under the dirt.

2. Likes Chadmjohn liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Georgia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Tony Quiring View Post
    Slow speed is about the only limitation.

We have same unit as the big lathe and later found a SB 14.5 that is the common use one as for small stuff it is better, we added vfd on it.

The L&S however will get the job done.