What's new
What's new

Need help identifying a no3 universal horizontal mill

Littledanny

Plastic
I purchased a cincinatti no3 universal horizontal mill. I have been unable to locate any documentation, other pics of similar machines, even another universal machine etc
Trying to locate manuals, figure out what year it is, location that I can find a serial number as I havent been able to find one. Pretty much whatever i can find. She seems all there the main belt was broke from what looks like deterioration as it was leather.
I have yet to get it operational but I'm looking forward to play with it. Im a hobby machinist,
I make parts for the machinery at work so this will be my first horizontal mill so I'd like to do my research on it and figure out how it functions before breaking it hence my need of a manual. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 1897 Cinc Scan 01.jpg
    1897 Cinc Scan 01.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 103
  • 1897 Cinc Scan 02.jpg
    1897 Cinc Scan 02.jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 57
I knew it was old but didnt realize it was that old. That's awesome. I looked through that link you provided and ended up buying the book on Ebay. It's quite lengthy and should provide to be a good read. Thers a lot of info in their. It looks like the driveshaft will fit on the table drive which is located under the fixture.

Mine has a electric motor on top but the pictures you have doesn't show one. Its definitely the same mill. I'm assuming the machine was originally designed to work in a belt driven steam shop then? Did Cincinnati make a conversion kit to electric motors or was that just a really good job someone did?

These machines were "line shaft" dependent, were sold with the over head counter shaft that the mill rights struggled to get bolted to the over head

Cincinnati sure did not worry about converting the machines as they got older and older - that was up to others as they naturally were replaced and moved out to other locations as Used Machinery.