What's new
What's new

New to me Gorton 1-22 Mastermil

Hans Sprungfeld

Plastic
Hi everyone. I recently decided my old mill drill wasn't good enough and I stepped up and acquired a real mill. I located. Gorton 1-22 Mastermil. Just moved it into the shop last week and I'm still cleaning it up. If anyone is interested in the machine's history, or the saga of its acquisition let me know. It's pretty funny.

I believe it was manufactured in 1959, and I was pleased to find that it has an R8 spindle. Yes, I bought it without knowing.

I'm hoping to power it up for the first time soon, but I was hoping for some help with that.

It has a 2 speed 3 phase motor, 220v, and I have a 10 hp Chinese VFD. You know the kind.

I'm sure it'll be relatively straightforward to get hooked up, but I really have no idea what's going on inside the panel.

Does anybody have any suggestions for a complete noob on where to start with this? I'd prefer not to kill myself.

Well, I got it running. The panel is still mostly a mystery to me, but I wired the VFD into the main power input and it came right to life. The spindle motor runs, I can select high and low speeds, the power downfeed works. Unfortunately the table feed does not work. Anybody have any tips for troubleshooting that?

The mill was built in late 1959 and was delivered new to Allen Bradley in Milwaukee Wisconsin in January 1960. It was built with Allen Bradley controls, and with an R8 spindle, which I believe was a pretty uncommon taper for Gorton in 1959.

Allen Bradley, and its metal finishing arm ABQC, owned and used the machine from 1960 until 1990 when ABQC was spun off from Allen Bradley and became its own company.

ABQC continued to use the machine until it closed its doors in March 2019.

In late 2019, many of the remaining assets of ABQC company were being sold, and I acquired the machine then.