What's new
What's new

No power feed or gear changes on 1941 Cincinnati no2 horizontal

Dope

Cast Iron
Hello friends,

I've received really excellent help on a number of issues here, so here I am again. Much appreciated to everyone who tolerates my posts. I have no experience with this kind of machine, to be clear.

I picked up a new-to-me 1941 Cincinnati no. 2 horizontal. It's a medium-speed dial-type machine. Machine is in really excellent shape, it came from a tech school and has almost no wear. I measured .006" backlash on the Y axis! Almost perfect table - really stoked with this find.

Howeverrrrrrr I have discovered a problem. I got the machine rewired for 240V, wired up, clean and lubricated and started her up. Everything seems okay except for two issues:

1) No power feeds in any direction. However, the table traverses with the hand controls AND with the rapids. Furthermore, sometimes when engaging the power feed, the corresponding handle will turn very briefly (maybe an eighth of a turn). Towards the end of my troubleshooting, I realized that the horizontal splined shaft on the right side of the knee isn't even turning. I'm guessing that's how power transfers to the knee and subsequently all of the power feeds.

2) The spindle turns approximately 25-28 RPM at all times, regardless of the gear I put it in (I tried them all). Gear changes and feed changes work great but the spindle always spins the same speed. I'm really confused by this one. It does have a 27 RPM gear speed so I assume it's somehow stuck on that gear but I have no idea how the whole gear change assembly is working great but it's not actually changing gear.