What's new
What's new

Pratt and Whitney Model B 12x30 Headstock question

tmacie

Plastic
Hi All,
I'm relatively new to machining and old heavy iron. I just picked up a P&W Model B 12x30. The previous owner bought it at an estate sale, only had it for a brief time and didn't do anything with it. The story is that a trade school student bought the chuck from it but didn't know how to get it off. Apparently he figured it out as there is no chuck with it, but in the process of trying, he took off the allen cap screws that hold the plate on to the headstock.

The plate was loose with about a .125" gap when I got it. Today, I tried snugging up the screws, as I was snugging the bottom of the plate wasn't drawing in like the top was. I've stopped there as I don't know if there are supposed to be shims under the plate, or if there is some other adjustment that should be made first.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Travis

Hi John,
Thanks for the reply. This is the plate behind the spindle nose. Mounted to the head stock, not the spindle itself

Thanks,
Travis

Ok. thanks for that. It looks like there is a register as well as a seal that rides in a groove on the spindle. Hopefully they didn't damage that seal. Do you know if there is a parts manual available out there?

Travis

No rubbing seals - most machine tools - at least WW2 vintage - had LABYRINTH arrangements to keep oil inside

In other words - nothing to pinch in the way of a rubbery seal. There is likely a thin gasket which one would not want to pinch either

Never saw a 12 X 30 Model B parts pub but can email the Model C parts which won't be much for Model B parts. :D

Ok. thanks for that. It looks like there is a register as well as a seal that rides in a groove on the spindle. Hopefully they didn't damage that seal. Do you know if there is a parts manual available out there?

Travis