What's new
What's new

questions on my newly acquired KT 2H

Chucky55

Plastic
Being a self taught home machinist, I am learning all the time, but when I get stumped, I turn to the greatest machinist forum out there!!!
Recently acquired a 2H plain for my home shop. Serial 3265 It unfortunately didn't come with much...a B style arbor support and a 1 1/4" arbor. No vertical head or tooling. I have got it all cleaned up, running and checked out. Everything works great, and the ways look decent. Haven't DI'd it yet though. The one big issue I have found is this: The splined table feed shaft on the rear side of the cross feed bracket is missing the telescoping tube and where the shaft enters near the column there is a LOT of play...in the parts manual, the only thing I have figured out is the telescoping tube shown in fig 16 and is listed as number 54 (2H-M54)
Then I am lost...I can't find for sure the splined shaft, or what it is it is mounting into near the column. Can someone please point me to the breakdown and part or parts (bushing I assume) that is allowing this play. And is there any chance of getting replacement tube and I assume bushing for the play?

Next, I purchased a used cat50 1" arbor from a local used industrial supply, but it is pretty much bare. I have spacers on another 1" arbor I had for an old Bristol mill I have, but what I need is the running bushing for the B support on the 2H. Where can I find one, or can I just make one? I can make one of 1018 stock I have, and broach, or do I need a better material? How tight of tolerance is required for the bushing? I think the one on the 1 1/4 that came with the mill measured 2.100"...but that was just a quick check with a caliper...haven't miked it yet. It also looks like it may be case hardened...so if I make one is this necessary?

I am sure I will have more questions as I get deeper into it...

Really appreciate any help and guidance. I am looking forward to making some chips with this!!

Charles