What's new
What's new

Universal Dividing Head for Cincinnati No 2M

olsenjohn

Plastic
Hello All,

I am looking for a Universal Dividing Head for an older Cincinnati No 2M horizontal milling machine. I will try and post the picture along with the thread but if I can not here is a link to vintage machinery where I have pictures posted. I apologize but I am new to the thread and still trying to figure out the picture thing.

VintageMachinery.org - Photo Index - Cincinnati Milling Machine Co. - No. 2 M

What I am wondering is if I can use any Cincinnati universal dividing head or if I will need a specific year range model to fit? I believe the original machine came with a 10" unit. As you can see the machine has all of the drive gears and they are in great shape. Just need the head and tail stock.

Also, I can not find the serial number. Any suggestions on where to look?

Thank you in advance!

This thread has some good pictures of a Cinci universal head-

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...-10-universal-dividing-head-tailstock-179148/

Should not be any issues with year/model interchange-you already have the really hard to find parts. If you need measurements for drive shaft location just let me know. The DH I linked to is sitting on my 2MH but I don't have the lead box.

Don't know where the serial # is on those mills, an accomplice of mine owns an early #1 and I believe He said there were lot #'s on some parts but no serial #.

Scott

Also, I can not find the serial number. Any suggestions on where to look?
Above or below spindle flange on face of column. It won't tell us anything though, too old and obscure by now. I have seen serials from these days that start with an "A" or "B". My 1919 #4 High Power vertical was B121M.

All these early compact "M" mills had the flanged and face keyed spindle nose with #14 B&S taper, which I have only seen (in photos) a few pieces of tooling for.