What's new
What's new

VN 21 worn head

FirstEliminator

Cast Iron
Hi,

The VN 21 or 2I that I've been using for the past 8 years has some wear in the head. I feel this is going to be a problem for boring an accurate hole. I haven't taken the head apart, but I have tried to adjust it. It appears there is a tapered bushing that the spindle is drawn into. The problem is, if I don't have a little bit of slop, then it starts to bind up. Or, if I attempt to drill a hole the spindle gets pushed into the taper and stalls the machine. The only way to prevent stalling is to constantly pump oil into the oil cup to create oil pressure to hold the spindle from locking into the bushing. Is this bushing restorable? Is there a bearing type head that can be mounted on the ram?

thanks,
Mark

Read the posts on Hendey lathes with similar tapered plain bearings - most either have this problem - or will have this problem - or used to have this problem but have been fixed.

Here is just one of them:

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...ead-spindle-thrust-problem-205770/index2.html

Get your spindle out and see if it has features similar to the Hendeys with their removable thrust ring that can be shimmed behind to correct the problem

Thanks for the reply and links John. I took the head apart tonight, it does not appear to have any shims. Although it looks like it could use some. I took a few pictures, but don't have time tonight to upload them. It appears the end of the bushing is worn allowing the tapered shaft to lock in the bushing. It would be nice to upgrade this with some tapered roller bearings on each end. But, if it were shimmed properly it would probably last another 80 years. Perhaps there are shims in there I didn't see. Maybe next week I can take another look. I'd do it sooner but, I need to get ready to pick up a Norton U-4 10x20 cylindrical grinder this weekend.

thanks,
Mark

The VN 21 worn spindle head has been apart for about 2 weeks.

Here is the upper bushing: