What's new
What's new

What is wrong with my 12'1/2" x 40" Cincinnati Tray Top Spindle?

Vladymere gr

Hot Rolled
I am a home hobbyist with a Cincinnati Tray Top lathe that I bought from my employer. Please don't refer me to the home hobbyist machinist site.

When I am cutting as I get closer to the chuck I will start getting a spiral in the cutting.

I have .003" of run out on the tip of the spindle when measured on exterior or interior of the L00 cone. I have a short video attached showing this runout. The video was made with the indicator tip contacting the end of the interior of the spindle. At the very end of the video I have the indicator on the end of the spindle exterior and I am lifting the spindle with a piece of plastic electrical conduit on the inside of the spindle.

I have tried tightening the headstock spindle bearings thinking that pulling the final spindle conical bearing in tighter to the races, I.E.-removing any play, might correct the issue. It did not correct the problem and if anything I now have the bearings to tight. The video was made with the bearings tightened.

As my title says, what is wrong with my spindle on my Cincinnati Tray Top lathe? Is it bent? Could this be a problem with the spindle nose bearing?

Gentlemen I seek your advice.

Vlad

Sorry Fellow, I am unable to attache the video. Sorry to have wasted your time.

Sounds like the bearings are loose or worn. Usually spindle bearings are pretty durable unless someone changed them with the wrong grade. If the spindle were bent you it would only run out when it's turning. I've worked on the clutches on that machine but not the bearings. Someone here might have a manual to help you see what you're up against if it is the bearings. Could be that's why they got rid of it. There is a forum here with manuals. BTW you're not wasting anyone's time, these are the most helpful group of people I've ever met. Good luck and keep us posted as to what you find.