What's new
What's new

1" pocket measures 9.7"

Birddseedd

Plastic
Hello. I am new to Machining. And I'm not sure where to go with my issue here. I drew a one-inch . It is perfectly one inch from the edge of the peice but the square pocket itself measures to small . I did do a spring pass just to be sure. But it seems to be measuring at .97 instead of one inch. I'm not sure where to go from here. And using a grizzly mini Mill with a CNC kit. Thank you for your help
=CONFIG]266365[/ATTACH]20190929_121338.jpgH=CONFIG]266364[/ATTACH]

Attachments

• 20190929_121306.jpg
    20190929_121306.jpg
    87.8 KB · Views: 338
  • 20190929_121324.jpg
    20190929_121324.jpg
    89.6 KB · Views: 399
Well, you can start by throwing that "machine" in the garbage. Get a job in a machine shop and get some real training. Those shitty YouTube videos you've been watching are giving you false hope.

Backlash, steps per inch calibration, does the cutter cut undersize. It never fails to amaze me how many people who don't know how to operate a machine attempt to build one...…..seems kind of backwards to me :crazy:

I have a G0704 toy for engraving that holds a .001-.002" that I would love to sell. Problem is everyone I know falls into 1 of 2 categories. They either don't have a clue how to operate it or the people that do know how to operate it don't want anything to do with it.....this isn't by chance....

If the cutter was cutting under sized then wouldn't my distance from the end of the part to the beginning of the pocket be off? That measures a perfect 1 inch

That's pretty much all Menards sells. Might try to get a entry-level micrometer at some point

Well there ya go, Menards isn't in the machining business.It's a fucking home improvement store.

Would you go to a Ford dealership to buy lumber?