What's new
What's new

16MM carbide bullnose cutter 4mm corner radius - young CNC programmer issues!

Danjones777

Plastic
Hi all, i am a young CNC programmer that has come across a slight issue. A feature on a part i am machining is a 25mm wide slot that is 585mm long and has a 4mm radius in either corner, the slot is to finish 8mm deep. Initially, i am using an 18mm rippa cutter. i am machining the slot to 24mm wide and 4.5mm deep, and then running the rippa cutter along the centre of the slot 7.5mm deep. this leaves two squares of materials in the corners of the slot to machine the radius with my 16mm carbide bullnose cutter with a 4mm corner radius. (please see attached photo for context). now, I've completed 10 parts and they are correct dimensionally but i have managed to chip two of my bullnose cutters. I am a relatively inexperienced programmer so I'm not sure as to what I'm doing wrong, could it be the amount of material i am trying to clean up in one go with my Bullnose cutter? or are my feeds and speeds wrong? i am running the cutter at 5000RPM and the feed 1000mm/min, the component i am machining is Aluminium. the cutters are almost £200 a pop so i don't particularly want to chip/scrap anymore.

if any more experienced heads have any guidance for me it would be much appreciated.slot file.jpg

Can you post a picture of the damaged tools?

I'd say the rpm is too high (not actually too high, it is aluminum, but I would slow it down when you have issues) and the feedrate is a bit low for the RPM.

Without seeing how it failed, I might suggest that you add another rough pass with a square endmill to make the step less. But then again, I don't think you should have this issue with aluminum.

What does the workholding look like? Rigid? How about the tool, is it stubby? long? What kind of machine? Is the machine rigid? Also, what kind of aluminum? And what is the coolant situation?