CANADA
    State/Province
    Ontario
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default 4 and 5 Axis Setup - Minimill

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to the CNC and even machining arena. I'm a university student on an internship and I'm having a bit of trouble with our mini CNC mill here. It's a Minitech GX mill (Mini-Mill/GX - MINITECH MACHINERY CORPORATION), with 4 and 5 axis stages(5th Axis - MINITECH MACHINERY CORPORATION). I understand the basics of G-code, and I know how a dial test indicator works, but I'm struggling to understand how to set up the 4th axis, the trunnion table. I've looked online a ton, but haven't found anything that really helps with my issue. Here it is:

So I have the trunnion table on the mill, but it isn't straight on the roll, pitch, or yaw axes. I understand how to run the dial test indicator along the table in the x-axis and y-axis for roll and pitch and how to shim it up, but yaw confuses me. I had the table accurate to under half a thou over a couple inches (we're only making small parts) in the x- and y-directions, but when I ran the DTI along the table at +90 and -90, the runouts are different. So I believe that the base plate on the trunnion table isn't level with the axis of rotation, but I don't know how to accurately level the axis of rotation if I can't count on it being level with the table. I attached a picture of my setup, if that helps: 20200626_140746.jpg20200626_140746.jpg

Any help is appreciated! I've been reading lots of these forums, and thanks to all of you for answering other folks' questions too,

S

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Missouri
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I would recommend a bolt in the center of the 1,2,3 block. Not pinching it under a portion of the side of the head like you show it.

If your artifact is moving, you are chasing your tail.

That giant spongy stack of shim screams of slobbery, chewed on tail.

Country