What's new
What's new

4140 Finish issues

Rogue_Machinist

Hot Rolled
So ive been doing this Machining thing for several years. I usually dont have a problem with getting a good finish on 4140 but this most recent batch of 4140 doesnt seem to want to give me a good finish. Im leaving .045" for a finish pass. Im using CSS its a 3/8" diameter to that ends at 1.250". But all I seem to be getting is tearing. every calculation Ive done shows 4074RPM @.375". My machine isnt capable of doing that. Max I can run it is 3000 which I started at. Im cutting at .006"/rev. And im still getting a ratty finish. Ive experiemented with various feeds and still nothing.

What am I doing wrong. This didnt happen with my last batch of Mat'l.

Sounds like the difference between a batch of annealed versus a batch of heat treated, stress relieved. Complain to the supplier and try a different heat.

Along HFD's thoughts, do you have access to a hardness tester? If you can check between an older piece and the new material, that might confirm the issue.

Last edited:
When you can't get the surface speed you need, and you are tearing,
the first trick I pull out of the bag is to shut the coolant off
during the finish pass.

If your .045 is on diameter, try that on radius, that can help.
Maybe feed a little faster.

If the simple stuff doesn't do it, then its time to change the
insert. Go to something sharper. I'm a big fan of the ground
polished up sharp inserts for aluminum. They are awesome in
gooey steels that tend to tear when you can't get the
surface speed you need. They are kind of like a piece of
sharp HSS, but you can run them faster.

If you don't have any of those in stock, pull out the sharpest thing
you've got.

One last stupid thing, I can NEVER get a good surface finish using
CNMG's especially on smaller diameters, no matter what the insert
geometry is... I don't know why, and I don't even try to figure it
out anymore, I just do most of my finishing with DNMG's.