What's new
What's new

5-axis machine evaluation

Andy Harpur

Plastic
Green newbie here...
Decades of experience generating NC programs from CAM software on a keyboard, but CNC operating experience is virtually non-existent.

I've been asked to help evaluate submissions for purchase of an entry level simultaneous 5-axis machine for delivery and commission later this year. The machine will likely be used for 1-off development work and showcasing new manufacturing technologies in a demonstration environment based in the UK. Budget £175-£230k ($250-$325k)

The shortlist follows. Any advice; things to watch out for, personal experience of any in the list?

Last edited:
Green newbie here...
Decades of experience generating NC programs from CAM software on a keyboard, but CNC operating experience is virtually non-existent.

I've been asked to help evaluate submissions for purchase of an entry level simultaneous 5-axis machine for delivery and commission later this year. The machine will likely be used for 1-off development work and showcasing new manufacturing technologies in a demonstration environment based in the UK.

The shortlist follows. Any advice; things to watch out for, personal experience of any in the list?

First quick pass.

The standout here is the MAZAk CV5-500*

You've (@Andy Harpur) probably seen this.

So the CV5-500 is designed, and built , in the UK.

AFIK it's not available anywhere else (maybe Europe) but not sold in the USA.

The other standout is that it's a bridge construction AND the trunion goes through the bridge which IMO is (theoretically) the best layout for a 5 axis vertical.

The one drawback maybe is that the machining processes are not very visible and one might need a camera in the machine and a separate larger monitor to show what's going on (like in the video above). [In terms of what is exhibition friendly / didactic.].