What's new
What's new

5C collet chuck for HAAS TL1 Lathe

CThaas

Plastic
Hello every one. I am a newbie to both CNC machining and this forum. I recently took ownership of a new HAAS TL1 lathe. Came with an LMC 3 jaw chuck. I would like to be able to use my Hardinge 5C collets with it, and switch back and forth between the collets and the chuck without too much trouble. Is there some way of mounting a Sjogren type speed wheel Chuck on the HAAS TL1? Any advice or links are appreciated.

I dotn know why you couldnt put a air auto closer on it, like the one from the old hardinge AHC machines. there cheap when you find them used. thought soemone had one on here last week for sale or parts of one.

We have a Royal Products pneumatic 5C collet chuck for our 2007 TL-1. It's great though doesn't get used a ton since our bison 3 jaw is very good. But for a few small production runs on sub 1" stock it was great. It happens we have a Victor (Hardinge clone) right next to it and that machine has all the collets in 64ths in neat rotating racks, so they're there.

When I had a TL-1, I used a 3-jaw most of the time. When I needed to use 5C collets I used one of these: Kalamazoo Industries 1CC 5C collet fixture

Couldn’t have a faster changeover, just clamp the Kalamazoo in the 3-jaw. Of course slower in use than an air closer, but quite versatile.

I have heard about the collet chuck system you talk about above. Definitly an attractive option. The only thing I wasn't sure about was it was recommended that the 3 jaw chuck have soft jaws and every time you mount the collet chuck you should cut the jaws to minimize run-out. Have you had any experience been with this?