What's new
What's new

Advice on Hard Reaming

Shop Supply Guru

Hot Rolled
As many of you know I sell tooling and I try to be a resource for my clients. I have good success selling Walter DC170 drills for drilling 50’s Rockwell material. This drill has no margin so it’s pretty tough. My client has had good success with these drills but now would like to try hard reaming. They would like to drill then ream a .1885” hole. The hole is a .500” through hole. So far I plan on drilling 4.7mm/.185” then reaming with a carbide reamer. Probably a Coated Harvey tool.

Anyone have advice or words of wisdom?

I'd tell them to be ready to swap out reamers for resharp on a regular basis if this is a production job. I'd also reduce amount left for reaming to ~.005" or .006"/side, to lower torque. Coating shouldn't be too thick, sharper edges will cut down on force.

This might be an application for a CBN one-pass hone, especially if high production.

I have no experience with this on a production basis, so take this with a large grain (or bucket) of salt.

I was spoiled, most of our precision tooling had location holes or details wire edm’d or jig ground. However we occasionally had to improvise. I found that jig reaming, in the old school fashion, with a YG (?812?) or 5057 (I’d have to do some looking to refresh the numbers) yielded excellent results in both accuracy and surface finish.

I typically tried to use a tool with either a corner radius or chamfer.

This was a range of 54-68 Rc steels with a few 72’s thrown in.

I know youre asking about hard reaming, and I have limited experience with it aside from for ejector pins. Not particularly excited about it myself.

If this is a production operation, and tolerance is important, I'd recommend looking into a burnishing tool.