What's new
What's new

Advice needed for a 3 axis CNC machine in my Shop (for prototyping) I'm a Novice.

Gun-Machine

Plastic
I have a Shop being set up for the production of Fire arms accessories and assembling of completed Fire Arms. I'm very good at Hand machining, and have been machining since High School. I have operated CNC machines before and I am generally knowledgeable of how they work and what they are capable of.

However, I have never had to set one up and become self proficient with one.

I don't need the machine to be a full time Production Machine, but more of a Prototyping Machine that I may make 1, 2, or a dozen of the same parts on. depending on my Needs. So repeatability is something I needed to consider, but the overall efficiency in part turn around time is not the biggest factor.

Since I am on a limited budget. I have been interested in the CNC Masters Baron Milling Machine. It is capable of producing the parts I have in mind.
I have been reading all I can, and I should be purchasing such a Machine within the next 2 weeks since I finally have insurance on my Shop and can begin to move my equipment in.

I wanted to know a good source of information on 3-Axis CNC machining that would pertain to the Baron Mill or a similar mill.
Again, It will only be used for Prototyping parts that I will be contracting out to a machine shop for production, and for the making of custom tooling and Jigs for my in house machining and assembly of other items.

Any recommendations on reading material (Books, sites, threads) would be greatly appreciated.
I also need to post in the CAD/CAM Section and see where I should get started in that department. I am considering the Rhino CAD/CAM and/or Visual mill like CNC Masters recommends, but I simply do not know enough about it to understand if it is going to be something I absolutely need to produce my parts I have drawn out.

Thank you all in Advance.