What's new
What's new

Advice on Starting CNC Support Business

jlogeajr

Plastic
Hello to All,

I am a capital project manager at a larger US manufacturer but have recently branched out into my own business. My only problem is outreach and I figured this was the best place to get advice.
My business, SaveMyMachine LLC, reverse engineers components of obsoleted CNC machines for which the spares market supply has been exhausted.
Rather than being forced to buy an expensive new machine, customers can provide my team drawings, prints, and/or the broken part, and from there we get them back running again.

My thoughts are my customers are likely smaller machine shop owners and maintenance managers from larger companies, but I am stuck on how to get in touch with these demographics.
I built a website SaveMyMachine but am unsure of how to get the word out, so to speak.

Does anyone have any recommendations? This is my first independent business but I feel like I can fill a need and help some people avoid seriously expensive unplanned capital purchases.

Best Regards,
OJ

My advice would be to develop a solid functional Control upgrade/replacement kit for Haas VMC's built from the 1990's through about 2007. Haas is no longer supporting the main board. Their upgrade path is about $20K, maybe a bit more. I think if you had a plug and play setup, no glitches, easy to tupport, for a fair price, you would have solid business.
There are people out there that have used Centroid controls, and I think perhaps Mach3/4?, but I don't know how solid they are. Perhaps if you used a Fagor, Siemans, and had support for them, that might work.