What's new
What's new

Amplifier Replacement Options

Grenade

Plastic
I just picked up a Sharp TMV-1 with an Anilam CNC retrofit. One of the three amplifiers is dead - I just got the news today that it's beyond economical repair. I can get a refurbished one (these drives are no longer produced) but it's ~$1,800. This is a garage/hobby machine so I'm trying to save money where possible.

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to drive systems so apologies if my questions are amateur. First and foremost, is it possible to swap the dead drive with something that's not a direct replacement? If yes, what do I need to look for? is it as simple as finding a drive that matches my servo motor specs?

I've attached a photo of the servo plaque for reference. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

IMG_20190909_093432.jpg

it says SEM right there on the motor. Seems like the place to start.

Servo motors and drives are usually a matched pair.

SEM may not have made the amp. Is the input power AC or DC? Are the input signals PWM or analog? + and - 10V? or is it 0 to 10V with direction? Maybe step and direction? The tag on the amp will answer most of them.

Ed.

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to drive systems so apologies if my questions are amateur. First and foremost, is it possible to swap the dead drive with something that's not a direct replacement? ....

This will be a hard task.
Unless you can find someone online that has already done it, at $5 per hour for your time you will likely spend more than the $1800 figuring it out and tuning it let alone buying the "other" hardware.
It is certainly doable with other brands of amps but so many details and you have to tune or adjust the pots and or jumpers.
Best hope is that someone has done that work on your machine model already and willing to explain the setup.
I'm sorry to be the party-pooper but this stuff is not plug and play.
Bob

I agree, you may have a hard time finding a cheap drive that will plug and play.