What's new
What's new

Anilam 3000 mill axis direction problem

M. Moore

Titanium
New to me Topwell 5avk milling machine with Anilam 3000 control, 1998 machine.
I am completely new to CNC and have never made a cut with a cnc machine other than my CNC torch table.

I just hooked it up and got everything working and I noticed the X and Y moved opposite to the control spec.
The Z axis worked correctly and the spindle turned in the correct direction.
Machine powered up and homed properly.

I looked in the manual and it seemed simple to change the encoder settings to reverse the readout. I changed the X and Y and saved the changes.

Now the problem, the machine tries to home and it just moves a few inches and errors off. So I went back and changed them back to the default settings, still the same error and movement of the table when trying to home the machine.

Do I have to manually reset the home position?

Thanks for any help in advance.

Michael

Absolutely no insult intended, but are you sure the axis are backwards? Picture the endmill moving through the work, that’s what the cnc references .
For positive X values, the end mil moves from center to the right side of the work, but the table moves left.
Same with Y, table moves opposite.

Kicks your ass if you think about it too much.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

No insult taken.
I was having a bit of time with the + - aspect but I checked and double checked with the manual open and in front of me.
They were running backwards, when jogging in x- the table moved to the left.

Thanks for checking on a noob.

I'm a bit curious how it got like that , I have 3000m on a knee mill and don't see how that happens accidentally.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

I obviously don’t understand either but the previous owner had a few programs on the machine and as I was playing around with the machine it would not run the programs correctly, its seemed to be reversed.