What's new
What's new

Any alternatives to Haas TM-1P?

Helix888

Plastic
Hi all. I'm a hobbyist with an interest in making everything from small gears for clocks to mini-jet engines to other small CNC machines. For years, I have been woodworking, and have a 4 foot by 4 foot CNC router in my garage, but I've always wanted to transition to metalworking. I've bought a nice manual lathe, now I need a nice CNC mill. I understand used machines are cheaper than new machines. But really, I'd prefer a shiny new machine. Something that I can buy once, and will last me 20 years. I'm not doing production runs, I'm okay being patient while a part is being milled. And the hours of operation are going to be very low, at least initially. I just need it to entertain me on some weekends.

I have my eyes on a Haas TM-1P. With a 5k off sale right now, I can get one at 36k. The thing that's holding me back from ordering is the price of the options. For example, the wireless probing system is 5.7k? I was thinking it should be more like $300. Even to have the option of using a 3rd party rotary table costs 1.6k, and that's before 2.6k for 4th drive axis and wiring, and a whopping 7.6k to add 5th axis drive and wiring. Even to add 32 GB of memory is 1.1k. Really? In 2019? To add wifi is 2.1k. Unreal.

I like the travels of the TM-1P, the accuracy, repeatability, the brand, and I can't seem to find a new VMC that matches those travels and price. But I don't know if I want to support a company that charges an arm and a leg for every little additional option. Are there any alternatives I haven't found? I've read enough on this forum to be dissuaded from purchasing a CNC bridgeport style mill.

Any recommendations? I guess I'm looking for something above hobby grade, but not necessarily production grade. Thanks so much!

Wishlist
At least 20x10x14
New, not used
Accurate, precise
Ability to run on 120v, or single phase 240v
Small footprint
ATC
Ability to add 4th or 5th axis