Any new technology in the machining world? - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

In laser turning. What is the propose of spinning the laser to have that helical output? To spread the beam out back/forth to angle-wash the slag out?

I’ve got very little laser experience (50w fiber laser engraver) bit laser drilling with it I find micro material buildup gets in the way of the beam and starts a prosses or re welding vs new material removal.
    But the fixed head and relatively small effective focal distance only allows for shallow cutting (1mm)
    They are a neat “new ish” tech to the masses with cheap Chinese units priced for anyone with bulk marking to do

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Commoditization and diffusion. What percentage of shops/machinists had probes or things like haimers 30 years ago? 15? This year? There's surely quite a list of things that were "exotic" or "very costly" not so long ago, and now 1/3 or 1/2 or "most" shops/machinists are using some form of them.

Sometimes this is things have gotten relatively cheaper (VMCs), sometimes just more accepted (probes), sometimes cheaper alternates (haimers and similar can work in most any machine.)

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by bryan_machine View Post
    Commoditization and diffusion. What percentage of shops/machinists had probes or things like haimers 30 years ago? 15? This year? There's surely quite a list of things that were "exotic" or "very costly" not so long ago, and now 1/3 or 1/2 or "most" shops/machinists are using some form of them.

Sometimes this is things have gotten relatively cheaper (VMCs), sometimes just more accepted (probes), sometimes cheaper alternates (haimers and similar can work in most any machine.)