What's new
What's new

Any regrets buying a Brother?

digger62

Aluminum
I'm about to pull the trigger on a Speedio S700, and was wondering if there was anything you know now that you wish you would have done differently when getting your Brother.

The machine will be mainly used in production of 7075 plate work (blanks 4"x6"x.625"). 1-5K piece runs. There will be occasions where I'll be cutting some 17-4 H1075 (2"x2.5".5"). The largest drill I use in the stainless is .5". The largest facemill is 2.5". Everything is machined on 2 sides only.

Buyers remorse can be a b***ch. I just want to make sure there isn't anything I've overlooked, like silly things that don't come standard that are rather necessary(I'm looking at you FANUC).

I've been making these parts for several years on a Sharp, but volume has got to the point I need to add another machine to the tight garage.

The only thing I wish we had was capacity for more tools, otherwise, it's a great machine. If you can afford it, get through spindle coolant.

If you can afford it, get through spindle coolant.

I never understood this logic.
To me, if people can't afford that option, then they shouldn't be in the market for a new machine.

Thru spindle coolant is a must have IMO.

I never understood this logic.
To me, if people can't afford that option, then they shouldn't be in the market for a new machine.

Thru spindle coolant is a must have IMO.

I discourage at least half my customers from buying CTS systems. The cost is often not worth the production increase.

Deep drilling or high ratio pocket milling are where TSC is needed....it's nice everywhere but it's a real problem solver in deep applications. Half the stuff I machine now I don't even run coolant.

No regrets. Just get the machine with the TSC prep so you get everything else with it like the larger coolant tank, chip wash, and auto grease lube.