What's new
What's new

Fixture for round parts - VMC - newbie questions

Wade C

Stainless
Im new to VMCs, and finally getting done with various maintenance and cleaning on the new to me Fadal 4020HT (88HS, Rigid Tap, 10k Spindle, 28" Z - for reference)

Im starting the learning process on fixturing, setting up, accuracy, etc. Im not well versed in multiple part fixtures because until now, its all been turning center work, or running singles on the manual mill. But now with the magical "tool changer" contraption on the new to me VMC... and increased demand for some of my products, its time to start thinking more about efficiency and output and get this critter humming. Not to mention learning more about everything in general in the process.

Im starting my learning with a fixture for holding an ≈8" long by .625" round, water hardening drill rod (from enco), and I need to cut three "flats" or "slots" across it - all on the same "side" - like a flat for a set screw on a shaft.

I wanted to pick some brains about fixturing ideas if anyone is feeling generous with their time.

I would like to be able to hold maybe 10-20 of these at a time. I have to cut one slot 1.040" wide (+/-.025") that is .124" deep (-0/+.002") in the middle of the 8" long rod, and one end (within 2" of the one end), there will be two slots each .500" wide (+/-.025") and .070" deep (+/-.025"). Positioning accuracy is +/-.025". Basically one slot is important to functionality (slot depth is the major factor), the other two just need to be there, location of the slots does not have tight tolerances.

Im probably over thinking this... and worried about nothing, but thought best to get good advise before I plop down a chunk of change for a block of material to cut the fixture into. To complicate things (maybe) I will be later doing very similar parts in different diameters up to .875" dia.