What's new
What's new

Best bang for buck on VMC

Arichat_78

Plastic
I work for an Engineering company that is looking to expand our prototyping capabilities. We currently have a Zortrax 3D printer and a small Roland cnc router that is good for prototyping in woods and plastics but not metal. We are ready to invest in a proper CNC mill/machining center that would be suitable for one/two part runs, prototyping and mods. We have a rough budget of ~$25k-$30k. I am a machinist by trade but have been away from actual machining for quite a few years now and I'm a bit out of touch with the brands on the market today. I'm thinking at least 10 tool capacity, ~10k rpm, 30"X15" bed with ~ 20"(x) 15"(y) 15"(z) travel. I was hoping that you guys could throw out some recommendations of a quality machine that wont blow our budget. Any help would be appreciated.

Steve

I work for an Engineering company that is looking to expand our prototyping capabilities. We currently have a Zortrax 3D printer and a small Roland cnc router that is good for prototyping in woods and plastics but not metal. We are ready to invest in a proper CNC mill/machining center that would be suitable for one/two part runs, prototyping and mods. We have a rough budget of ~$25k-$30k. I am a machinist by trade but have been away from actual machining for quite a few years now and I'm a bit out of touch with the brands on the market today. I'm thinking at least 10 tool capacity, ~10k rpm, 30"X15" bed with ~ 20"(x) 15"(y) 15"(z) travel. I was hoping that you guys could throw out some recommendations of a quality machine that wont blow our budget. Any help would be appreciated.

Steve

At that price you'll have to go with a used machine.