What's new
What's new

Best CNMG 432 insert for Turning 17-4PH

Beezer

Aluminum
Let me start off by saying that I am new to CNC machining, so please forgive me for my newbieness. LOL

Been running manual machines for 30 years, but there are some things with using a CNC machine now, that I have not really had to think about too much before. My work purchased a used DTMG CKE6136i a couple years ago and I have been teaching myself how to use it when I am not busy.

I need to turn some 17-4 PH material, that has been heat treated to condition H1025. What grade of insert should I get and is there a particular chip breaker that works best? My boss will not let me buy all sorts of inserts for a specific operation, so I need an insert that can be used for both semi-roughing and for finishing. This lathe is limited to how many tool holders I can mount at one time, so I am limited to one external turning tool holder. I am also limited to 3500 RPM spindle speed.

I have searched this forum and found that some people like Sandvik 2025, ISCAR IC907, Tungaloy NS530 and Mitsubishi US735, when turning 17-4ph.

I have been using more SECO brand inserts over the years, when working with 304 and 316 stainless in the manual lathe. In particular CP500 grade.

Any other brand and grades I should look at?

I tend to buy inserts off eBay when I can find good prices, as we don't use a lot of them, so if I can save by getting them there versus a dealer, it makes me look good to the bosses. :D

Thanks

In a previous life we used a lot of Tungaloy T9015 in a TM geometry. We turned a fair amount of H1150 and had good results. It’s not the optimal high performance choice, but it’s a very economical choice that definitely out performed more expensive offerings in 4xxx steels which are a similar cutting condition.

If you're going to use Seco, use the TM0501 or TM1501 grade.

Seco does it right when it comes to grades: