What's new
What's new

Best g-code transfer software???!!!!

Tom.

Plastic
I am a programmer at a shop that has programs from the 1990's that they would like to transfer from the old g-code to a modern post, from a machine we no longer own to a newer (completely different format) machine. We sold off our 4 or 5 Cincinnati and we have moved to fanuc controlled machines.

We currently use Kipware CNC Exchange, and it is not really cutting the muster, My plea to y'all is WHAT TRANSFER SOFTWARE RULES THEM ALL? My company really needs this please.......

Tom.

hi / there are CAMs and CNCs and utilities

what you need is a code interpretor - translator, and i doubt that you will find it easy :)

you may build a dictionary and use it, but it may be faster to recreate those programs from zero

by the way, how many programs are there ? do you have CAM files for them ?

start with one program at a time, and develop ... if you are lucky, it may be only a rudimentary find&replace thing :)

hi / there are CAMs and CNCs and utilities

what you need is a code interpretor - translator, and i doubt that you will find it easy :)

you may build a dictionary and use it, but it may be faster to recreate those programs from zero

by the way, how many programs are there ? do you have CAM files for them ?

start with one program at a time, and develop ... if you are lucky, it may be only a rudimentary find&replace thing :)

It could be a very easy task to build a code interpreter if you just want to port the old G-Code to the new machines without making program changes.
I would approach the problem like this:

1) Print out one of the old programs on paper and raid the office supplies cabinet for a few colored highlight pens.
2) Identify tool changes, coord-systems, reference returns and other special commands which may vary from one machine to another and highlight those.