What's new
What's new

Left or Right han tooling

CNC for dummies

Plastic
hi Guys,
i have just purchased my first CNC live tooling c axis lathe for my workshop, i am agonising whether to use right or left hand tooling, i understand that 80% of machines are using right hand tools. I have been a manual machinist for over 20 years and my thoughts are that i would use left hand tooling. can someone give me some pros and cons for each hand.

cheers

Using right han tooling you don't have to reverse the spindle to drill, tap or thread. Depends on who you're talking to as to whether the transfer of the cut load down on the bed matters. Long standing debate. I'd rather use left

Brent

It's not usually a case of one or the other. You use what suits best for a given situation and machine.

Typically in a slant bed lathe, right hand tools let you keep the spindle running without reversing if you are drilling and screwcutting like yardbird says above. Another benefit is the chips fall away easier sometimes. For a typical user not concerned with squeezing every last second out of a cycle, these are not significant advantages IMO.

If you're doing heavy boring in a steady, a right hand bar generates cutting forces down into the steady, whereas a left hand bar is trying to lift the part.

Otherwise, left hand tools generally provide better stability for heavy cuts and generate cutting forces in a direction that are more favourable to the machine. Accordingly, like yardbird, I usually prefer left hand.

There are fringe cases where it depends on the machine. I have a Y axis lathe with a physical Y axis instead of a wedge, on that machine the Y servo is under constant load to hold the turret up against gravity, and using left hand tools makes it work harder. Never been an issue, but it's just something that I'm aware of.

I go with right hand for standard tooling, I'm not a fan of stopping and reversing for drilling.