What's new
What's new

Books or material on 3D surface machining?

KristianSilva

Aluminum
Hi,

The company I work for have recently purchased a Mazak e1250v which we are going to be doing some 3D surfacing with when it is delivered in 12 months time.

I have never done any surface machining before (expect the odd chamfer or radius), so was wondering if there is any good books or training material about 3D surfacing as id like to get some sort of an idea before the machine arrives and hopefully test some tool paths etc.

Let me know if you guys have any suggestions on the best way to approach learning this topic!

Cheers

What CAM system are you using?
Contact them and ask and also search youtube for videos etc.

Using SolidCAM, they have loads of good content online but i was wondering if there are any best practises? how much stol to leave? scallp height? how to calcl finishes etc

what im after might not exist

Using SolidCAM, they have loads of good content online but i was wondering if there are any best practises? how much stol to leave? scallp height? how to calcl finishes etc

what im after might not exist

It been a while since I've been doing the SolidCam thing and I may get back in to that before long for 5 axis,

My impression of SoildCam at the time that they have / had a lot of "best practice" built into the interface, they make a lot of effort to work with real machinsits and machines to make sure what they "Prescribe" is actually useful and adheres to 'best practice" as much as possible.

I found their manuals to be very instructive for machining processes.

Are you also thinking like barrel tools and swarf milling etc ?

the e1250V that's the big 5 axis mill turn machine

Does SolidCam** have a proven post for that ? I'd look into Software stability as in the past that has been a bit of tripple decker sh*t sandwich. Because it's built inside Solidworks there can be problems from the ground up (as follows) that are beyond SolidCam's control.