What's new
What's new

Boring Issues

NeedForFeed

Plastic
Hey folks. I'm pretty new to machining in general so go easy on me, but I have an issue with chatter/lousy finish on these parts that I'm trying to bore, figured maybe you guys might see something that I'm missing.

I'm running a Mori Seiki NLX2500, trying to bore a 42mm hole about 9 1/2" deep into M2, and the finish has to be good enough for a slip fit to go with another part I already finished. I'm using a 14" indexable boring bar, choked up as tight as I can get, with a 1 1/4" diameter. Currently set to a feed of 0.003ipr, 80CSS, and cut depth is about 0.005".

The problem I'm having is that aside from being as loud as all hell, my finish is like sandpaper. I also can't get a consistent cut. I'll measure it, see that I need to take off another 0.010", adjust for that with tool wear, take a cut and measure again only to find out that I only took off 0.002".

I've tried rubber bands on the part, masking tape on the boring bar, electrical tape on the boring bar, electrical tape and a shim, and I even tried swearing at it, but nothing I do seems to affect it. Any ideas of what I'm missing?

CCMT3251HQ inserts.

Kyocera makes a PCD insert in CCMT but they run about $150 each. Your bars out there almost 8 times diameter and M2 is like machining sandpaper in the first place. The speed and feed look fine for the insert you have now it's just the rigidity on the bar,, IMO. I would bet the only way you're really gonna get a good finish is to go with a ceramic insert and get a load off of the bar. 6% tungsten and 4% chrome would be hell on tools.

With steel boring bars a 3 to 1 length to diameter ratio is basically the end of trouble free boring, in your case 3.75"

Options beyond 3 to 1 are heavy metal, carbide bars, and de-vibe bars. Your length to diameter ratio is 7.6 which puts you into the expensive boring bar range.