What's new
What's new

Boring of a long, small tapered hole

Bendak

Aluminum
Hi all,
I am an undergraduate student at WPI needing to cutting a certain oddly-shaped hole as part of an independent study project. The material being cut is normalized 4340 chromoly steel. The hole starts off straight for about 0.916" which I can cut with a regular drill bit. The problem lies in having to cut the two tapered portions of the hole, the first being a 1° per side taper and the second a 3° per side taper. Seeing as how the starting and ending diameters of such holes are non-standard and lie past an already 0.259” diameter hole, I have not been able to find any tapered end mills which meet such requirements. I tried using some old boring bars found on Ideal Surplus from Bokum Tool (BSC5), but was unable to get the bar to bite without significant deflection, leaving the hole undersized. If needed I may resort to attempting to machine my own custom tapered D-Bit as a last resort. Any ideas on how best to machine this part?
Hole Geometry:
Hole Geometry.jpg

Thanks,
Jack Ruddat
WPI 2021

What kind of finish are you looking for? Not knowing anything else, I’d probably get a custom reamer ground.

As Eric U says you need a reamer. You will most likely be money and time ahead if you just order a custom one in the morning.

The finish is not much of a concern. I've looked into custom made tapered end mills which tend to be very expensive. Would you expect a custom ground reamer be a cheaper option?

Well it is a 10:1 length to diameter ratio which is quite high even for solid carbide boring bars.