What's new
What's new

Breaking Taps- Blind Holes- Brother TC-S2C

biglord4ever

Aluminum
I'm tapping 1/4-20 blind holes in 6061- predrill .201" clearance hole 1.43" deep, tapping .85" deep. I've tried running both OSG and MariTool taps- spiral, semi bottoming. Originally pecking every .2", then reduced to every .1". 200RPM, 10F

The taps make it about 5 parts and then blow. I'm new to this, so what am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

200 rpm????

I usually run 75 SFM (1146 rpm) for btm tapping in 6061, with a 1/4-20 spiral flute (any brand) cnc tap.
Also, try bumping the drill to 13/64" (.2031) as a minimum.
You have from Ø.1960 - Ø.207 to meet the minor diameter spec for a 2B thread.
Use a larger tap drill.

Also, are the shavings getting jammed in between the tap shank, and clearance hole? What diameter clearance hole is above the thread?
A depth of 1.43" before getting to the threads requires a longer tap (possibly DIN length??) and that too could be causing you problems.

For a full depth of .85" I would peck 2X (maybe 3, max) to get there.

What type of coolant?

Is the concentration enough?

My apologies for the rambling/ unorganized post. My ADHD med's must be wearing off.:D

Let me restate, I am predrilling to 1.43" deep and tapping .85" of that.

I was taught to tap at an RPM of 10x pitch and a feed of 10. But it sounds like that's a "bit" more conservative than you're running. ;)

Wallover 880 coolant. Define "enough concentration" for me.

...I was taught to tap at an RPM of 10x pitch and a feed of 10.
Whoever told you that sure as hell wasn't doing you any favors.

You would run a 1/4-28 slower than a 1/4-20 because it has less pitch???

RPM is material dependent. Feedrate is pitch dependent. 200 RPM is waaaay too slow for tapping 1/4" in aluminum.

My goto cutting tap for that hole is a Hy-Pro 298 series. No pecking, one shot to depth. 1000 RPM, feedrate 50 IPM. #7 tap drill. You should get in excess of 1000 holes in 6061 with that tap.