What's new
What's new

What brand do you prefer for boring?

conceptsmachine

Aluminum
I'm new to the CNC turning thing. I would like to go with one distributer, and have everything match like I do with my milling. What do you prefer for say:

Boring in mild steel?
in Aluminum?
in Stainless?

Turning in the above?

Grooving and Cut-Off in the above?

What brand over-all is your favorite?

One more thing, is there a insert diagram online somewhere that I can look up?

Thanks

JImmy

I use iscar almost exclusively.They got just about everything.Go to their website and request a catalog.The catalog tells u everything you wanna know.

p.s. If you are on the east coast,the local distributor is American Tool(TX)

iscar or ph horn to groove.
sandvik bore bars with mitsubishi inserts

If you try to standardize on one brand you'll be getting less than optimum tooling in many instances. Some of them claim to be able to do everything with the best of results, but I've not found that to be true, and I've never talked to anyone else who owns a shop and thinks its true either. The competition is just too keen for one manufacturer to be on the top of the heap all the way across the board.

Thank you for the replies. Metalmunchr, I know what you mean. Different companies make some things better, however, with the size of my run of parts, I don't really care about being productive. I'm mostly running 1 to 25 parts on my CNCs. The 25 is actually a high number...usually no more than 10 pcs/part. I think that the time that I save with organization would be more than with the actual cutting tool itself. When or if I start getting into large orders of say more than a 1,000 parts, I may look into who does the best as far as individual tool catagories. For the most part, I would like to know who is the best over-all efficiency.

Thanks again for the help!

Jimmy,