What's new
What's new

Broken Taps

Matthewkral

Plastic
Hey guys. I'm trying to tap "C-1020 / 1026 Steel Tubing ASTM A-513" and I keep breaking taps. The tap we are trying to use is a 1/4-20 NC GH3 SP/FL bottoming tap. We are already drilling oversized with a #6 drill (.204). We are drilling 1.1" deep and tapping .800" deep @ 100 rpm with a feedrate of 5"/min.

Any ideas on where to start trouble shooting? I'm new at this. We didnt have much issue with this until recently. The last tap only tapped about 4-8 holes before breaking.

Hey guys. I'm trying to tap "C-1020 / 1026 Steel Tubing ASTM A-513" and I keep breaking taps. The tap we are trying to use is a 1/4-20 NC GH3 SP/FL bottoming tap. We are already drilling oversized with a #6 drill (.204). We are drilling 1.1" deep and tapping .800" deep @ 100 rpm with a feedrate of 5"/min.

Any ideas on where to start trouble shooting? I'm new at this. We didnt have much issue with this until recently. The last tap only tapped about 4-8 holes before breaking.

That tubing is gummy, and your RPM is WAYYYYYY to slow.
You're at 7 sfpm.
You want at least 70 sfpm.
Go 1000 rpm and use a good tapping fluid/oil.

note we run our taps in self centering extension/compression holders

If this is tapping an id on a small thick-wall tube having a thru hole it should not be chip-packing sine you are using a spiral point tap. Depending on the holder you are using and if there is no slight countersink to help it locate, it could not be centering, and being a bottoming tap it will not be as forgiving as a plug or taper would on a misaligned hole.