What's new
What's new

Does anyone have any experience with an older Iemca barfeeder?

Parkerbender

Stainless
I was given (ish, if it works they want a couple bucks but it's pretty cheap) an older Iemca barfeeder, a 1997 65TALauto. It has rubber guides in it and a big ol' pusher rod and things such as this that are all 'sized to the stock' and you can't seem to get them any more, but they have an operating range... I think that the stuff that is in it is a 43mm, which has a range down to 20mm or so. The smallest bars I run are 16mm (well, 5/8" but who's counting...), does anyone have any idea if this thing is going to explode or run 20 gallons of hydraulic fluid on the ground or what it might do? I have no barfeeder experience at all, have only ever had one lathe which has a subspindle, and I just pull my bars and used an old LNS hydrobar that isn't even hooked up just as a tube to hold the stock. That works ok, but I just added a non-subspindle lathe and need something to feed that one with.

OR am I being stupid messing with a barfeeder at all, and should I just do the same thing with this second machine and try my hand at a bar-puller tool? If that is a smarter idea, does anyone have a favorite bar puller? (hopefully not a $1500 royal... ha!)

Thanks so much for reading this weird rambling question. I hate this new stuff I don't know anything about...

-Parker

I was given (ish, if it works they want a couple bucks but it's pretty cheap) an older Iemca barfeeder, a 1997 65TALauto.

Hi Parker.

We have a couple of TAL 65 bar feeders here. If the TAL is cheap enough you could probably use it to feed against a stop on the turret - move the turret into position, open the collet, feed your stock out in Z, close the collet, etc. You'd need to wire it into your machine and program for it.

New guide channels are expensive. Somewhere around $4,500 to $6,000 for a complete set.