What's new
What's new

Brother Speedio Mastercam post help

Finegrain

Diamond
Hi guys,

I have a very old Mastercam post for my Speedio S700X1. It only emits J format G77 calls, like this:

G99G77Z-.5512R.03J31.75S2000

I would like it to us this format for metric threads:

G99G77Z-.5512R.03I0.8S2000

Sometimes the J format looks OK math-wise, like in the above case J31.75 is exactly the same as I0.8. However, I have some experience recently that makes me think that the control does not treat these the same way.

Anyway, I want my post to use I for metric and J for English. I have been hand-editing J's to I's for awhile, but sometimes I miss one, and it's also possible to make a typo and then have a bad day (I don't want to talk about it :wall: ).

Can someone show me the code in their post that switches to I format for metric threads?

Thanks, and regards.

Mike

I would try here;eMastercam Home

It's a tough thing, asking someone to "free brain" Edit your post processor Via an Internet forum, not all of us are named Bill. But it's really not that complicated once you see it. Do you know how to edit your post processor?

R

FYI fair warning. They run a tight ship over there.

What version of Mastercam are you using?
I personally have never seen the tap feed controlled by an I or a J, is this something that you've manually changed?
I can send you a snippet of my post but I doubt that would help you since my post uses IPR for all tap feedrates.

What version of Mastercam are you using?
I personally have never seen the tap feed controlled by an I or a J, is this something that you've manually changed?
I can send you a snippet of my post but I doubt that would help you since my post uses IPR for all tap feedrates.

Mastercam 2018
With my post, tap feeds are always emitted using J. The only changes I have to make are switching over to I for metric, and using G277 instead of G77 for peck tapping.

Regards.

Mike