What's new
What's new

Can coated carbide inserts be brazed?

npinson

Aluminum
Got a medium short run job for a part with a 7/8 13tooth internal spline. On a similar part, but with a much larger ID, I just ground a top notch threading insert to fit the profile, and clamped it with a standard clamp, just oriented on the face of the toolholder so I could broach it in a C axis lathe.

But on this part, I’m going to use a 1/4” IC T series triangle insert, but the screw for it is very tiny, (M2.2 x 0.45mm). I’m not that familiar tapping that tiny, and I’m also concerned cutting forces may be too much for that screw to handle. I have to make a custom toolholder either way, but I thought about brazing it in. I’m not very experienced in brazing either, from my understanding you want clean, dry, wet able carbide. Because of the PVD coatings on this insert, I’m asking if that can even be brazed in a pocket?

Thanks guys

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If you draw up the geometry of the insert and the minor diameter of spline, does the holder have enough beef to the outside that you could add a small cap, held down with its own pair of small screws? If that works, go ahead with mechanical fasteners, not brazing.

Obviously you have to allow for the insert/holder being fully inside the minor diameter of the spline for starting clearance.

As far as the actual tapping, it's no different than larger threads, but I might simply drill the holes and then fixture in a manual mill to do the tapping by hand. Good sharp tap, proper lube, use a spring-loaded tapping guide to help you stay straight.

I looked it over again, and I’m going to try a 1/2” IC insert that uses a beefy screw now. The minor is just a tad over 0.75”, but I’ll grind off the 2 other corners of the TCMT insert so it clears with the toolholder in the bore. Only reason for a TCMT insert is that it already has a 60deg form with cutting relief built in. Really just grinding a small flat for the root on top.