What's new
What's new

Carbide Hob Grinding - Feeds and Speeds Questions

rhadfield

Plastic
The shop I work at recently picked up an Anca FX3 to grind our HSS and carbide hobs. I am new to grinding and looking for information on grinding carbide.

I have read that carbide hobs are sharpened in one pass at full depth with a slow feed rate. However, this information is out of a shop book that is older than I am and much of the information is outdated.

I have had semi-good finishes using the same program I use for HSS hobs, but with a diamond wheel. The tolerances for AA ground hobs are tight, so I am seeking any information to improve my process.

Thanks in advance.

Hopefully Carbide Bob will chime in here, but I would call your grinding wheel manufacturer and speak with them. Everything I have read about carbide hob sharpening is that's its better to sharpen more often and remove less material than to wait for the hob to wear excessively and then have to remove a lot of material. Interested in what you find out. Welcome to PM!

Was going to say the biggest biggest MOST IMPORTANT thing when sharpening hobs is to make sure the face of the teeth is exactly radial (unless the hob is marked as having a hook, so always check.) ITW had charts showing what happens to the involute when you get the cutter face off radially, and it ain't pretty. That's even more important than finish or index spacing.

The programs used with these hobs has hob shift after every part and sharpened after one full pass across. The wear is minimal for carbide.
I have been experimenting with the amount of removal, removing less and less. The finish and grind quality is noticeably better with a lower material removal

Thanks for the advice.