What's new
What's new

Changing from inches in main program to mm in subprogram

rbmgf7

Aluminum
I have a couple of nice Kennametal threadmill tools with replaceable inserts that the last engineer had ordered but I guess never got around to installing them. They're the style that come as a certain pitch but then I can threadmill whatever diameter I need. I contacted my Kennametal rep and he sent me the software to write the programs, however, the program outputs the units in millimeters.

I'm not a CNC programming whiz but in order to substitute our current production program's tap code to use this threadmill, I figure I use Kennametal's autogenerated program to become a subprogram whenever the time comes to tap. Since our production programs are in inches, can I G21 at the beginning of the subprogram and then G20 at the end before M99? I've never used those G codes before and am not 100% certain if that's the correct way to do this.

Thanks.

I've never done this, but I think that on some controls you can get into trouble as the offsets may not update with the change.

If you try it - make sure to make a first pass try above the part to see how it goes.

-------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

I've never done this, but I think that on some controls you can get into trouble as the offsets may not update with the change.

If you try it - make sure to make a first pass try above the part to see how it goes.

-------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

On our Haas NGC it wouldn't work. If I put a G21 anywhere I get an error message something to the effect of "machine not in metric mode". I guess the machine is somewhat smart enough to recognize a difference between a 3.123MM offset and 3.123INCH offset..? Or maybe it is just checking a param like H&T code agreement on/off? :dopeslap:

Why not just ask Kennametal for the inch version?

No CAM on the premises?