What's new
What's new

Chevalier FSG 2460 CNC Help!

kapte

Plastic
Good Day,

We just bought a Chevalier surface grinder to our shop.

Chevalier FSG 2460 CNC surface grinder with a Fanuc CNC Express OMC-MCU09506-001 R00

Recently got it functioning and can manually precision grind a workpiece, however due to the immense number of parts that we surface grind we want to use the NC capabilities to provide precise and less labor intensive machining. Since i am a noob at CNC, i could only get it move one direction at a time using simple G01 & G00. I cannot generate a software to perform intermittent surface grinding. Here are some other points regarding this problem / the machine.

• G79 code used for intermittent surface grinding is labelled "undefined" in the Fanuc NC and cannot be used
  • The head holding the grinding wheel can only move in the Y & Z direction. The X direction movement is performed by the grinding table that moves between two adjustable limit switches continuously at a given feed rate.
  • FANUC & Chevalier both dont have any concrete information on how to perform the surface grinding automatically since this is an old machine, manufactured around 1995

I was wondering if there is special Chevalier specific screen on this FANUC control that can help us set the X, Y & total Z range thus informing the machine where to surface grind and by how much.

I have attached a few photos and diagram showing the FANUC control module and the operation we want to perform.

Any advice would be extremely helpful!

Thank you!
Control_Panel.jpgView attachment GrinderOperationDiagaram.PDFHMI_Screen.jpg

Do you have a list of M codes for the machine?

Should be pretty straight forward to write a simple macro that will allow you to just punch in dimensions you want.