What's new
What's new

Custom CNC Camera Part - Anyone want to do a trade?

wyo22ski

Plastic
Hello,

I'm a professional studio photographer and have a design for a camera part that I'd like to have made. I also need some practical advice on tolerances, etc. Basically, the part I'm looking to make is an X/Y axis (vertical and horizontal) shifting lens mount. My final CAD isn't fully complete as I still need to answer the questions of dovetailed sliding tolerances/lubrication, but will send my CAD file and additional drawings to any interested parties.

The X/Y-adapter would mount to the camera with the first dovetailed plate controlling vertical motion and the second plate controlling horizontal motion. There is an adapter currently on the market that does something similarly, but only in one axis. I actually own two of the adapters ( MIREX-Adapter für die besondere Fotografie ) which inspired my design. The adapter I've drawn uses a helical rack and pinion to precisely move the plates and adds the second axis of travel. The adapter also integrates two ball spring plungers to help indicate zero on the +/- X/Y axis. Lastly, even though it is a lens adapter, the lens actually stays stationary since the adapter has a tripod mount--the camera (640g) will actually be shifting up/down and side to side. The final part needs to be anodized in black.