What's new
What's new

Choosing a New Coolant.

ArturoMeltri

Plastic
Hello!

I'm using a coolant which is Hangsterfer's S-500CF which I didn't like because it's very difficult to get my machines clean and to clean the components we make.

We only cut steels as A36, 4140PH, D2, M2 and M4.

My provider is offering me a different coolant from the same brand but the R-100 version which as far as I know is clear without color and he says that is almost as Blaser Synergy 735.

Do anyone has experience with the Hangsterfer's R-100. The price of this coolant is around $ 170 each 5 gallons.

Can you recommend me another coolant that might work for me.

Thanks

I have no experience with that coolant but I listened to everyone talking about qualichem 251c and it has been great so far. Sump life of over a year. At one point I drained a machine I was selling and then filtered it and put it back in another machine of mine and that coolant was good for over a year even through all that. In my opinion a very clean and easy to maintain coolant compared to the rustlick I had before.

R-100 is full synthetic. I think you would want to stick with some oil so look for a semi-synthetic.

I've been using the Qualchem 251C for a couple years now. Recently I did a bunch of pre-painted (fine wrinkle type) electrical control box covers. I'd done them in the past without coolant because the customer wanted them delivered clean as new with no residue etc. etc. This last time I used coolant and was surprised that a simple rinse in warm water was enough to get them clean. Was there microscopic residue left over and detectable only by laboratory analysis? Who knows. They did look and feel as clean as could be which was good enough for me.