What's new
What's new

Chopped Up Finish - Indexable End Mill on AL

sdinzy

Aluminum
Bought this end mill and these inserts to face a 1" wide surface, 6061. 1400SFM & IPT of 0.004" for an RPM of 4278 and a feed rate of 34ipm, DOC of only 0.01". Needless to say, the results were not as anticipated. I'm fairly new to machining, so it wouldn't surprise me if I had the inserts backwards or something ridiculous (I don't really think I have the inserts backwards :drool5:). WTF!

EM1.jpg
EM2.jpg

Bought this end mill and these inserts to face a 1" wide surface, 6061. 1400SFM & IPT of 0.004" for an RPM of 4278 and a feed rate of 34ipm, DOC of only 0.01". Needless to say, the results were not as anticipated. I'm fairly new to machining, so it wouldn't surprise me if I had the inserts backwards or something ridiculous (I don't really think I have the inserts backwards :drool5:). WTF!

View attachment 282628
View attachment 282629

Aside from the tool being a POS your set up is the main problem. its not rigid

I thought it might be the workholding. I would agree the tool was cheap. Ok so final verdict is workholding?

So I am no machinist either, but I can tell you that a flat faced insert like that is going to push off like crazy and if the part isn't absolutely ridid you'll get what you gotten. Use a nice new dead sharp end mill and you'll get much better results. It's aluminum and you will likely break it from stupid long before you wear it out. A smaller tool won't push as hard either so it will reduce the rigidity problem.

Honestly I don't know anything about inserts. Please educate me.

If its a TPG.. DO NOT buy it. Quite honestly, they should be outlawed. 1960's left over
garbage that even most home shop harry's won't even use anymore. Flat top, no geometry,
just garbage.

And if you paid anywhere near those prices, you got gang raped. But.. That is MSC's standard
operating procedure.

Even a standard APKT (80's technology) will work far better.

1 INCH APKT END MILL