What's new
What's new

Cincinnati Program Transfer Issues - ACRAMATIC 2100 CONTROL

lepinea262

Plastic
I started working for a company that has a few dinosaur Cincinnati Arrow VMC's machines with Siemens ACRAMATIC 2100 controls on them. I am not an expert with any control, especially Siemens, so this issue has been a thorn in my side to say the least.

The operators on the floor tell me that at one point in time, they could pull programs from the network through the Program Transfer function in the control. Additionally, they could save them back to the network from the control. Sometime over the last year and a half or so, we lost the ability to send from the machine, to the network. Pulling from the network still works. I can still see at the drives and directories that the equipment is looking at, so I know there is some level of connectivity.

When trying to send programs from the machine to the network, I am getting a 'Unable to gain access to the file.' alarm. Does anyone have recommendations or suggestions?

I have searched the manual high and low as well as scoured the internet. My next step is to pay to have service come out and work on these antiques.

Is the file you are sending (out of the machine) named the same as the one already on the network? Is that existing network file marked "Read-only", in its properties?

Maybe the file sending (from the machine) needs an existing file of the same name (or at least Read-only is un-checked)already out on the network?

Is the machine specifying a path (in its send/data settings) that has been re-named in some way? This can happen if a hard drive, computer, or router is replaced.

Maybe re-name the program file that is still on the network so it is different than the filename coming back from the machine? i.e. ver1, next time ver2 etc. appended to the original filename left on the network?

My next step is to pay to have service come out and work on these antiques.