What's new
What's new

CNC Billet Wheel Making ???

Rider

Plastic
Hi all, I am new to this and have been thinking which machine would be the best to use in making automotive T6 aluminum wheels.

The two machines I have seen was that of a Viper 950 Vertical Machining Center CNC and that of a Haas VF-5 20 HP Vertical Machining Center. The first question I would have to ask which machine should be best to use if either machine or should a Lathe CNC.

The next question would be if I were to make a 2 piece wheel and weld the centre billet to the main outer rim, which welder would be of good choice.

Rider, any good cnc mill can make the rims, provided it has enough y axis travel. You will need a min. of 20"
The faster it can spin means the faster you can cut the blank. Go for the higher rpm. Don't bother going above 12K, b/c then you will enter into the realm of HSM. That can be scarey! Seriously though, HSM is a different animal then just hogging off material.

As to the mills you listed, I am partial to Haas
There are other mills specially designed to manufacture rims. IIRC Okuma, I think

Rider,

The "big boys" don't make rims on a mill. They all use lathes with live tooling in the turret. Most of them have gone to polycrystaline diamond tooling. They usually make the rims in 2 set-ups or 2 machines. I saw 2 Mazaks turning cast rims. They were finishing a rim every 3 minutes.

John,

What I saw being machined looked like a high quality shell casting (almost investment cast quality). They were running about 1K rpm to do the OD of a 16" wheel. The cell had a robot loader and one operator. It was impressive.

JR

Thanks for the great posts guy's.

I realize in making the rims out of billet there tends to be alot of waste, and that is the thought of using the centre section of billet and the outer of norm aluminum to cut back on waste.

I do not want to go the rought of using cast aluminum for the quality is not there for polished rims.

Billet is normal aluminum.