What's new
What's new

CNC Buy first or go to school?

Steelcut

Plastic
Hello Guys,
I must first say that i have ZERO experience with cnc and CAM. i only understand its principle and have experience using manual machines...

I deseperaly want to learn to proeficiently use a cnc lathe and mill. im not sure if i should take a course at NTMA to learn cnc before i buy a machine (course its 14000 and 4 hs a day for 7 months ) or buy the machine first and learn the hardway...
I like the second option, but i dont know how hard would be to learn all the apects necesary to effectivly use the machine, and i dont want to buy a 9k machine and not be able to use because of my lack of knowdlege..

Many of you would probably know best if is worth the time and money to convert a bench mill to cnc (grizzly g619) or to wait until i can afford the tormach PCNC 1100 (aprox 9k :ack2:)
and then learn to use or go to school and get trained before buying anyting.
thanks in advance

buying a machine is simple. knowing what you need with it is the tough stuff. wouldn't hurt to do both.... learn and play at home at the same time. might help you in your schooling...

I think you need to decide what you want out of the machining . Are you just going to be a hobby guy , with the machines you have mentioned I would guess this. Or do you think those are Machines you can make a living with ?

Are you starting a machine shop or just a hobby?

Basic Base line knowledge is good to have and will help you start machining good parts faster and If you are going to start a shop I would suggest the Training first.

If you are just going to use the machines as a hobby then just start making chips and ask questions to this forum just don't mention about the hobby grade equipment.

I would wait until you can at least afford a Haas or something used in that grade of equipment. The Tormach would be ok for a hobby grade machine.