What's new
What's new

CNC holes are widening

Boltman89

Plastic
Hi all, this is my first time posting. I'm working on some high tolerance parts and they have been going well, but the last two i did, began milling two counter bores wider than they have been. I know it can't be that the endmill is wearing out, because that would make the holes smaller. what could be my problem? could there be debris in my tool holder that is throwing the tool off just enough?

Thank you.

You're going to need to provide a lot more information.

Machine you're working on. Material you're cutting. Coolant (flood? mist? dry?). Define "wider"... Oval, as in wider from left/right than top/bottom? Just larger in diameter but still round? How much is "wider"? .001" .0001"? .005"?

The less we have to guess at what your problem looks like, the less we have to guess at what your solution looks like.

Plus, a lot of the more experienced guys here don't even feel like trying to help guys who can't be bothered to provide basic information about their problem, so you lose out on decades, if not centuries of experience when they just decide to bypass your thread entirely.

Did you bend your mill? Is it in a collet or rigid holder? Many times tool concentricity takes a back seat to cutting diameter.

Hi all, this is my first time posting. I'm working on some high tolerance parts and they have been going well, but the last two i did, began milling two counter bores wider than they have been. I know it can't be that the endmill is wearing out, because that would make the holes smaller. what could be my problem? could there be debris in my tool holder that is throwing the tool off just enough?

Thank you.

milling aluminum dry you can get material sticking to cutting edge. false cutting edge buildup can cut extra, tends to be unstable as it breaks off and reforms and surface finish is much rougher.