What's new
What's new

which cnc lathe control would you prefer: OSP P300L vs. CELOS M730UM

Fabian_Schurter

Plastic
.. So first of all whats up everyone, this is my first post on practicalmachinist. I am a cnc mechanic machining out of Lucerne, Switzerland. I work in tooling, where we are about to replace our old cnc lathe, a mori seiki sl-15. It has been a tank, however it is getting old now and we want / need live tooling as well as good hard turning capabilities.

We are now down to our last candidates, it will either be a dmg mori nlx1500/2000 TS Y or a Okuma LB2000 EXII MY. I / we really like both machines from a mechanical standpoint, both should have decent service, and both are in the same range money wise, with some smaller differences.

The mori is our favourite as of now. However in the end it will probably come down to the control; getting the best possible control for our application. We are not a pure production shop, we make mostly make moulds for our plastics department. So, a lot of different single parts and small series. Prototyping, repair, and so on, which we need to be able to program efficiently on the machine. No CAM system as of now.

With our machine candidates now, it will be OKUMA OSP P300L versus MORI CELOS M730UM. Our old lathe has a fanuc control, so I haven't worked with either and don't know them much, apart from the research I've done.

So. Which would you prefer / recommend? And why?

Thanks a lot!!

Have a good one and stay safe and healthy.

Cheers,

Fabian