What's new
What's new

CNC Machinist Calculator App

shanesuan

Aluminum
It's been a few years since I've posted and I apologize in advance if this breaks forum rules but some of you may find this helpful and/or interesting. Let me start by saying that I'm a manufacturing engineer/CNC programmer who works full time. I started in 1994 as a machine operator. I have a 3 kids so I'm usually pretty busy hauling them around. I'm also a huge tech nerd and because of that I became interested in app development about 5 years ago.

In 2015 I began working on a Machinist Calculator app and released the first version in July of that year. I'm now up to version #51 on Google Play (I think iTunes is at version 15). I've spent roughly 3000 hours on it. I did the artwork, the programming, built the website, I do the customer support, do all the social media stuff, and whatever else needs to be done.

48422445_2191986787513183_7226078116681089024_o.jpg

The app now has 29 sections of info. There's the stuff you find in most machinist apps like milling, drilling, & turning calculations with speeds & feeds. But there's also things like the "Brain Check" feature which tests your machining knowledge and grades you. There's also thread info for a couple thousand different threads with an over wire pitch diameter calculator.

I always here the old school guys saying that a machinist calculator is for the inexperienced guys that don't know machining. That's the main reason I added the uncommon things. My goal is to teach the new guys and to get the old guys the info they need to do there jobs like thread pitch, macro info, m-codes, g-codes, and others.

If you guys are interested please check out my website at CNC Machinist Calculator available on iTunes & Google Play or search for "CNC Machinist Calculator Pro" on iTunes and Google Play. It's got a 4.7 rating on Google and a 4.5 rating on iTunes (Sorry, I no longer have the free version)