What's new
What's new

CNC or manual milling machine?

drummerdimitri

Plastic
I'm going to eventually need a milling machine to assist me in my metal fabrication shop and since I am new to milling, would it make more sense to get a CNC machine or a manual one?

As I will not be doing production runs but instead one offs, the CNC machine may be overkill but then again as it is a one man show and I only have two hands, there is only so much I can do at a time.

I'm very familiar with 3D printing/3D design in Fusion 360 so and would much rather get myself a budget but quality CNC milling machine as It would make me more productive and I can put my skills to better use. Also, the learning curve will be much steeper with a manual machine.

That being said, what would be a quality 3 axis machine for small parts-medium sized parts that wouldn't break the bank? I'm talking sub 20K $ here.

A used beefy machine, a type that has service close by.
10 large, another 5-10 for tools and support equip. would be real sweet for ya,maybe,,,,
whatever u due
good luck!!!
Gw

Nothing wrong with a conventional (manual) machine, but I'm partial to CNC. My reasoning is that if you get busy and more than a handful of parts, the conventional machine tool is going to take up a lot of your time. I know a lot of CNC shops that still use engine lathes and Bridgeport mills for the one offs and fixtures, but to me, CNC is the way. Just my 2c.

Around here a clapped-out manual machine with a DRO and some tooling are almost as expensive as a decent used CNC machine with an obsolete control that will still make good parts. but maybe I've just got bad luck finding the deals.